2022 Hammola Football Championship: ‘Lee Bombers’ Thrash IMO FA To Emerge Champions After Third Attempt

Hammola Int’l FC on Saturday broke the jinx of their participation in the annual Hammola Football Championship as they crushed IMO FA by two goals to nil in the classical final match

The fierce encounter, played at the Ido Osun High School began on a cool note with less attempts by the two sides until 39th minute when Alabi Tunji beat an offside trap to slot in from close range as Hammola took the lead.

IMO FA, led in the attack by former Osun United forward, Tunde Afolayan and Bashir Adam struggled to level up but were denied any progress by the iron gate of Hammola FC, manned by Adeola Nifemi and Hamzat Sheriff who stood in for the suspended Gbotemi Abdulahi as the first half ended 1-0 in favour of Hammola amid rowdy session,

Hammola capitalised on the 10-man-down of their opponents and began a tiki-taka style of football which confused their visitors who were only running around the pitch until Ismail Ibrahim’s cool shot doubled the lead a few minute to the end of the game.

The victory means Hammola Int’l FC clinched the trophy for the first time after third attempt, having finished runners up in 2020 and 2021 editions.

At the end of the match, graced by the Olojudo of Ido Osun, Oba Adeen Adedapo Sapoyoro the first, Hammola FC Coach Jamiu Mudasir won the Best Coach award while the highest Goal Scorer award went to Moshood Ridwan of All-Star FC Iwo. Hammola FC shortstopper, Olanrewaju Isiak bagged the best goalkeeper award having finished on a clean sheet throughout the tournament. The most valuable player award was won by a fat but disciplined and clinical attacking midfielder, Bashi Adam of IMO FA.

Among those who also graced the final match are Honourable Bamidele Salam who represents Ede North, Ede South, Egbedore and Ejigbo Federal Constituency at the House of Representatives in Abuja, Osun West PDP Senatorial Candidate, Akogun Lere Oyewumi, Hon. Rotimi Ogunrinade, Osun FA led by the Secretary, Amoo Abayomi, Osun GFCC led by Coach Leke Hamzat among others.

Check Also

FIFA WC: Morocco Stun Spain To Reach QF

Achraf Hakimi made himself a hero with a chipped winning penalty as Morocco stunned Spain …

Nigeria’s Tobi Amusan Loses World Athlete Award

The World Athletics has named American hurdler Sydney McLaughlin-Levrone the Female World Athlete of the …

Governor Adeleke Signs November Salary, Swears-In New HOS

Osun State Governor, Senator Ademola Adeleke has approved the payment of November salary to workers …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.