Belarus, Ukraine and Russia Activists Win Nobel Peace Prize

Ukrainian, Russian and Belarusian civil rights campaigners are the joint winners of this year’s Nobel Peace Prize
Ales Bialiatski takes the award for his work as a human rights advocate in Belarus
The Russian human rights organisation Memorial and the Ukrainian human rights organisation the Center for Civil Liberties are also winners
They are recognised for their “outstanding effort to document war crimes, human right abuses and the abuse of power”, the Nobel Committee says
The Nobel Peace Prize is awarded annually to a person, or people, who have worked to benefit humankind
The announcement was made at a news conference in the Norwegian capital, Oslo
Previous winners of the Nobel medal include Barack Obama in 2009 and Malala Yousafzai who shared the prize in 2014

Check Also

China Probes More Football Officials Over Violation Of Law

Two top football officials in China are being investigated over “serious violations of the law”, …

Ethiopia Sets Up Tigray Interim Government

Ethiopia’s Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed has established an interim administration for the Horn of Africa …

Former UK PM’s Brother Loses Battle To Cancer At 59

Barrister Alexander Cameron, brother to former United Kingdom’s Prime Minister, David Cameron, is dead. Alexander …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *