Home / Headlines / Court suspends demotion of 75 monarchs appointed by Amosun

Court suspends demotion of 75 monarchs appointed by Amosun

THE Ogun State High Court sitting in Oke-Mosan, Abeokuta, on Tuesday reversed the demotion of 75 coronet Obas appointed by a former governor, Ibikunle Amosun.

The court ordered that the affected monarchs, who were sacked by Governor Dapo Abiodun, should be allowed to operate pending the determination of the suit against the state government’s action.

Justice Abiodun Akinyemi in his ruling on the interlocutory injunction filed by the 75 coronet Obas through their counsel, Olumide Oniyire, insisted that the status quo of the appointment of the traditional rulers be maintained.

Akinyemi explained that the relationship that existed between the claimants and the defendants prior to the termination of their appointments and promotions on February 6, 2020 should be maintained pending the determination of the suit before the court.

The Amosun government had on May 13, 2019 confirmed the appointment and upgrading of some community chiefs to coronet Obas.

The appointment was however reversed by Abiodun’s administration on February 6, 2020.

The revocation of the appointment prompted the 75 Obas to drag the state government to court.

ALSO READ:  Today's Paper

But the judge maintained that the hostility between the defendants and claimants began when the revocation letter was issued.

He ordered that the status quo should remain until the determination of the suit before the court.

Justice Akinyemi said, “The status quo therefore is in position of things as at 5th February before the legal notice of prosecution; also pending the determination of the suit.”

The matter was adjourned till July 7 for the defendant to file its written addresses and motion on notice.

Check Also

IBM revenue slips for third straight quarter

IBM reported Monday that revenue slipped for the third consecutive quarter this year, causing shares …

Rights Commission call for prosecution of indicted officers

The National Human Rights Commission (NHRC) on Monday called for the prosecution of 35 police …

EU lauds US plan to remove Sudan from terror blacklist

The European Union’s diplomatic chief on Monday welcomed President Donald Trump’s announcement that he is …

Leave a Comment