Excitement As Sanwo-Olu Doubles Lagos Students’ Bursary

Gov. Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State has approved an increment of 100 per cent on bursary payable to students of Lagos State origin in tertiary institutions across the country.

The Executive Secretary, of Lagos State Scholarship Board, Mr Abdur Rahaman Lekki said in a statement on Sunday that the increment would take effect from the 2022/ 2023 academic session.

Lekki said that he had already informed representatives of the National Association of Nigerian Students (NANS) Lagos State Chapter, and the National Union of Lagos State Students (NULASS) at a meeting at Alausa, Ikeja.

He said that the meeting was held at the instance of the Special Adviser to Governor Sanwo- Olu on Education, Mr Tokunbo Wahab.

Lekki said that the meeting had in attendance, the presidents and some executive members of both the two students union bodies, NANS and NULAS and representatives of the state government.

He said that the 100 per cent bursary increment and other benefits were aimed at supporting the educational needs of students of Lagos state origin, to let them cope with the present economic reality.

Lekki also disclosed that the government at the just concluded State Economic Summit known as ”Ehingbeti Summit” had approved the resolutions on the establishment of Lagos Diaspora Scholarship Fund.

According to him, the scholarship fund is aimed at providing scholarship and bursary benefits generally to all Lagos state resident students in tertiary institutions, in any part of the country, to support their education.

He appealed to the students over a little delay in the payment of the remaining 2020/2021 and 2021/2022 bursary/ scholarship benefits.

Check Also

Assembly Elections: Governor Adeleke Thanks Osun People, Extends Olive Branch To Opposition

Governor of Osun State, Senator Ademola Adeleke has expressed his heartfelt gratitude to the people …

Osun Assembly Election: Irekandu Re-Elected At Obokun State Constituency

Tajudeen Amodu The lawmaker representing Obokun State Constituency at the Osun State House Assembly, Hon.Adewumi …

Osun Assembly Election: INEC Declares PDP Candidate Winner Of Ede North State Constituency

Candidate of the People’s Democratic party PDP and Minority Leader in the Osun State House …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *