Infection spreads to 11 Ondo councils

Eleven local government areas in Ondo State have been affected by COVID-19 pandemic.

The affected councils are Akure South (22), Odigbo (3), Owo (3), Ose (3), Akure North (2), Ondo West (5), Okitipupa (2), Akoko South East (1), Ile-Oluji/Okeigbo (1) and Ifedore (1).

Governor Oluwarotimi Akeredolu, who gave the figures at a news conference in Akure, said the increasing infection rate called for concern and that worse days are approaching faster than anticipated.

He regretted that measures put in place by his administration were not properly complied with.

The governor said the curfew imposed in the state remained between 7pm and 7am.

He ordered the closure of sports viewing centres until further notice and urged religious leaders to adhere to COVID-19 protocols.

Also yesterday, Oyo State government said it has tested  3,433 samples in the ongoing efforts at containing the spread of the novel Coronavirus.

A member of the Infection, Prevention and Control Committee of the State Emergency Operation Centre (EOC), Dr. Korede Ikwunne, made the revelation while speaking at a “One-Day Media Orientation towards the 2020 measles awareness creation and COVID-19 response in Oyo State”

Ikwunne said Oyo has taken testing to the people at the grassroots through the activation of community testing centres.

She enjoined the people to adhere to the rules of hygiene and physical distancing as prescribed by the task force, if the spread must be contained.

Check Also

Osun SWAN To Host FA Chairmanship Aspirants In Debate Friday

Ahead of the June 13, 2023 election of the Osun State Football Association, Sports Writers …

10th Assembly: Tinubu Meets Lawmakers Thursday

Ahead of the June 13 inauguration of the 10th National Assembly, the President, Bola Tinubu, …

Osun HOS Charges Administrative Officers On Diligence, Commitment

The newly converted Administrative Officers in Osun State Civil Service have been admonished to keep …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *