Lawan swears in senator who defeated Akpabio in rerun

Senator Christopher Ekpenyong who defeated Senator Gods will Akpabio in the January 25, 2020 re-run election for Akwa Ibom Northwest Senatorial district has been sworn in by the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan.

 Senator Ekpenyong of the PDP polled a total of 134, 717 votes, while Akpabio scored a total of 83, 820 votes.

However, the scores indicate that senator Akpabio who is currently the minister of Niger Delta Affairs won Ekpenyong only in his own ward, Ukana West ward2 with a total of 762 votes while Ekpenyong scored a total of 620 votes.

Ekpeyong was initially declared the winner of the conducted 2019 National Assembly election but upon hearing the case filed against him by the Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Senator Gods will Akpabio, and the Appeal court nullified the election and ordered a rerun.

Check Also

Friendly: Hammola FC Tackle Laycon FC In Offa Tuesday

In preparation for the upcoming Nigeria Nationwide League One Season, Hammola International Football Club of …

Osun Assembly Poll: Adeyemi Declared Winner Of Ifelodun Constituency Election

Candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party in the just concluded state house of Assembly election …

Assembly Elections: Governor Adeleke Thanks Osun People, Extends Olive Branch To Opposition

Governor of Osun State, Senator Ademola Adeleke has expressed his heartfelt gratitude to the people …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *