Notable Aspirants Reject Outcome of Kogi APC Primary

Some of the aspirants who participated in last Friday’s All Progressives Congress governorship primary in Kogi where the former Auditor General for Local Governments in Kogi, Ahmed Usman Ododo, was declared winner have rejected the outcome of the process.

The secretary of the Kogi State APC Primary Election Committee, Hon. Patrick Obahiagbon, on behalf of the chairman of the panel, Governor Bello Matawalle of Zamfara State, had announced Ahmed Usman Ododo as the APC standard bearer for the election fixed for November.

At a press briefing in Abuja on Saturday, four of the aspirants dismissed the process that produced Ododo as a “sham”.

The aspirants that rejected the results included, Senator Smart Adeyemi, Prince Shuaibu Audu, Prof. Stephen Oseni and a member of the APC National Working Committee, Yakubu Ajaka.

The Senator representing Kogi West said no election took place as he maintained that the team sent to conduct the direct primary and officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission, (INEC) were nowhere to be found.

He appealed to the APC NWC to disregard the outcome.
He said: “It was scheduled for yesterday (Friday) The election was supposed to be concluded by 2 pm. Results were prepared even before the commencement of voting.

“This is the worst form of rigging, it was unprecedented. There was no election. For somebody to have audacity to write results, we are saying the INEC should be prepared to tell Nigerians if election was conducted.

“None of the officials of INEC and the panel led by Zamfara state governor came out
We are aware that Governor Matawalle wasn’t happy with the sham and that was why he left.

“There is a guideline that in the absence of the Chairman, that secretary should not announce the result. What we had was allocation of votes. The purported winner is the Auditor General of Kogi.

“We have no problem with the Governor but the level of his involvement. There was no election at all.

Check Also

Osun Speaker Assures House Of Assembly Commission of Cooperation.

The 8th Osun State House of Assembly has promised to continually work with the House …

Tinubu Swears Akume In As SGF

President Bola Tinubu has sworn-in Senator George Akume as the new Secretary to the Government …

Aregbesola Returns Home, Dedicates Political Successes To God, Tinubu, Buhari

Immediate past Minister of Interior, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola has attributed the success of his political …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *