SDP exco pass no confidence vote in national chair

THE leadership crisis rocking the Social Democratic Party took a fresh dimension on Tuesday following a decision by southern states party chairmen and zonal leaders, to pass a vote of no confidence in the acting National Chairman of the party, Alhaji Abdul Ahmed Isiaq.

Isiaq was named national chairman after the voluntary retirement of the former chairman, Prof. Tunde Adeniran in September.

However, at a meeting of the party leaders in Akure on Tuesday, it was observed that his emergence was in breach of the party’s constitution.

In the communiqué issued at the end of the meeting, signed by 15 state chairmen, the party leaders declared support for the SDP Deputy National Chairman (South), Dr. Olu Agunloye, who they argued remained the constitutionally recognised acting national chairman.

Chairman of the Forum of Southern State Chairmen and Zonal Leaders, Mr. Bade Falade, who read the communiqué on behalf of other members said, “We have confidence in the National Working Committee of Social Democratic Party and the party constitution in Article 13, section 2, sub-section (ii) in filling the vacant position of the office of the National Chairman.

“While awaiting the appropriate action of the NWC, we, being members of SDP and state chairmen and zonal officers hereby recognize the Deputy National Chairman (South), Dr. Olu Agunloye, as the bona fide acting national chairman of the party. We hereby enjoin others to follow the same in the interest of the Constitution of SDP.”

Check Also

Stop bloodshed in South-East, release ‘Mama Biafra’, Nnamdi Kanu begs

The leader of the Indigenous People of Biafra, Nnamdi Kanu, has urged that the killings …

Hoodlums attack Oyo sports council chairman over N5m bet loss

The Oyo State Sports Council Chairman, Gbenga Adewusi, has been attacked by suspected hoodlums after …

PDP shifts senatorial primary over disagreement on delegates’ list

The committee conducting the primary election for Peoples Democratic Party in Osun East Senatorial District …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.