Senate confirms all 43 Ministerial Nominees, Goes On Break

The Senate has confirmed the 43 ministerial nominees appointed by President Muhammadu Buhari.

Some of the nominees confirmed during the plenary presided over by Ahmad Lawan include the former governor state of Osun, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola, Dr. Chris Ngige, Mrs. Gbemisola Saraki,  Alhaji Lai Mohammed, Mr. Rotimi Amaechi, Sen. Godswill Akpabio, Otunba Adeniyi Adebayo among others.

However, only 20 were actually grilled while 23 were confirmed without being asked a single question.

The senate postponed its annual vacation to conduct the screening of the ministers while the nominees were screened within five days.

Meanwhile, the senate president Ahmed Lawan today named chairmen and members of the various senate committees after which senate president announced that the upper chamber will proceed on leave until 24th of next month.

Check Also

#EndSARS: Osun Judicial Panel Begins Sitting, Takes Five Petitions

The Osun State Judicial Panel of Inquiry on Police Brutality, Human Rights Violations and Related …

US blasts WADA move to sanction defaulting member countries

Tensions between the World Anti-Doping Agency and the United States flared Thursday as a US …

Man kills girlfriend, buries corpse in Lagos

The decomposing body of a bar attendant, Oritoke Manni, has been found at a site …

Leave a Comment