Senate President loses out as INEC certifies Machina Winner of Yobe North

The long-running political scramble over Yobe North Senatorial District has been laid to rest as the Independent National Electoral Commission has affirmed a federal lawmaker, Bashir Machina as the winner of the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC primary for the seat.

Machina and the President of the Senate, Ahmed Lawan, who had contested for the APC presidential primary had been in loggerhead over the senatorial seat, after Lawan lost the APC primary to Asiwaju Bola Tinubu.

Machina, according to a certified true copy of INEC’s report from May 28, 2022, won the election with 289 votes out of 300 delegates.

The Commission, on June 23, 2022, certified the document and did not mention Ahmad Lawan, the Senate President who has been jostling to return to the Senate on the APC ticket.

Lawan had been allegedly listed as the candidate of the APC for Yobe North senatorial election slated for February 2023, with reports that a primary had been held clandestinely to produce Lawan as candidate.

Check Also

Blackout Looms As Electricity Workers Go On Strike Wednesday

There are indications that the nation’s electricity supply crisis might worsen from Wednesday, as Organized …

PDP Crisis: I have No Plan To Resign As PDP Chairman – Ayu

The National Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party, Dr. Iyiochia Ayu, has denied reports that …

Austria Commits To Neutrality, Even As Russia Destroys Ukraine

Room for geopolitical neutrality has shrunk across Europe since February 24, the day Russia invaded …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.